PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
Fpr my projects, I need to develop some MIDI modules. They are like: external MIDI In/Out, MIDI to CC and CC to MIDI, (N)RPN to and from MIDI.
If someone else is also interested in such modules, please make suggestions (like 1 Module for cc/RPN/NPRN), or 1 Module for CC, with all CCs as array. At the moment nearly anything is possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:55 pm
Posts: 52
Location: dark side of the moon
a simple midi keyboard would be great , the default one have hanging note issue


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 731
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Hi I would like to to have a button or two or 10 where I can fire a few Midi commands. A button can be programmed before with one or a whole bunch of Midi commands.

With this little Midi device I could control e. G. My Hardware devices. My FX machine fire a program change #78 or a synthesizer k5000 e. G. Midi channel 5 bank 4 program number 96.

Each Button can be named. And the whole device can be named so it could be used as a group.
The type of command can be easily selected for none programmer persons

Guitar players could use this as a floorboard substitute. Means easy programming of there real floorboard, they fire from their hardware floorboard one command into scopes new Midi device e. G. Program changes #34 and the new Midi button is translating this into a preprogrammed bunch of Midi commands, e. G. Preamp program change #5 on Midi channel 7 and FX machine program change #65 on Midi channel 3 and a program change on Midi channel 9 to a scope mixer number 3 to set the mixer into recording mode. The button can use scopes Midi learn function for remote control.

This device could also be used to recall stacked synthesizer sounds, e. G. 3 or 4 scope synth or external synths recall presets as one sound with one button in your project. Or combinations of synthesizer mixer and FX settings to experiment with different stacksounds.

The possibilities are endless.

The device could have 2 or more programmable Midi inputs and outputs.

The device could be dynamic, adding buttons or killing and build them into groups or ungroup them again. . Colorize the way you want and having a good overview.

If you need a graphic designer, ask me.

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere
a midi kill or "all notes off" switch would be nice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
anabella wrote:
Hi I would like to to have a button or two or 10 where I can fire a few Midi commands. A button can be programmed before with one or a whole bunch of Midi commands.

With this little Midi device I could control e. G. My Hardware devices. My FX machine fire a program change #78 or a synthesizer k5000 e. G. Midi channel 5 bank 4 program number 96.

Each Button can be named. And the whole device can be named so it could be used as a group.
The type of command can be easily selected for none programmer persons

Guitar players could use this as a floorboard substitute. Means easy programming of there real floorboard, they fire from their hardware floorboard one command into scopes new Midi device e. G. Program changes #34 and the new Midi button is translating this into a preprogrammed bunch of Midi commands, e. G. Preamp program change #5 on Midi channel 7 and FX machine program change #65 on Midi channel 3 and a program change on Midi channel 9 to a scope mixer number 3 to set the mixer into recording mode. The button can use scopes Midi learn function for remote control.

This device could also be used to recall stacked synthesizer sounds, e. G. 3 or 4 scope synth or external synths recall presets as one sound with one button in your project. Or combinations of synthesizer mixer and FX settings to experiment with different stacksounds.

The possibilities are endless.

The device could have 2 or more programmable Midi inputs and outputs.

The device could be dynamic, adding buttons or killing and build them into groups or ungroup them again. . Colorize the way you want and having a good overview.

If you need a graphic designer, ask me.

Interesting ideas. One question: do you know how to add/remove pads dynamivally? AFAIK pads are allocated at the module loading time and can't be changed. I can't use PEP, where it seems to be possible. Do send a stream of MIDI data, the MIDI data can be stored in an ini-file and picked up at run-time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 731
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Im not a programmer, Im a musican, I can play several instruments, but no I dont know how to make it dynamic. Maybe it is good enough to have a set of dev.modules e.g. 5 Buttons or 10 Buttons, I guess this is the easy way.

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1690
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Hi, Dragon !

I hope you feel fine and have good succes with Scope development !
I imagine you are working on some Scope devices and by reading your posts on Z, I guess they are going to be unique and special !

I also hope you found a solution to all the issues with your device development and SDK...

Do you know when we, poor Scope users, will discover the result of your hard work ? On what kind of device are you working on ? You don't have to answer if you prefer to surprise us ! :D

I'm impatient to try that ! :)

Cheers !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
I have different projects in the fire, but regarding MIDI, I'm working on:
- ext. MIDI-IN and out
- convert MIDI-CC into control voltages and vice versa
- same for RPN and NRPN values
- MIDI keyboard (virtual) with options like you have on a real MIDI controller (sliders, knobs, pushbuttons) etc.

Regarding real Scope work, I'm waiting for the Dongle. I working on a multiple harmonics generator (resynthesis). The current device usess too muich DSP power, only 2 voices are available. With a new DSP osc design, I'm expecting at least 4 voices.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12620
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Nice to hear.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1690
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Great ! :)

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 8:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 602
Location: Modular IV
Hi, a bit late to reply but for midi, an easy way to handle MPE

looking forward to the new devices


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12620
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Excellent idea as MPE is really starting to mature.
Not into the Roli stuff, but Continuum and Lin are grabbing my attention.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Hi, a bit late to reply but for midi, an easy way to handle MPE

looking forward to the new devices

So, here is the 1st device: MIDI to CV, 16 CC values can be handled with teaching button: Press the button, apply up to 16 different CCs and press button again. The state will be saved, so next time, you don't need to teach again. The ini file will be automatiically generated in the app directory. The dll goes the usual dll dir (for ex. C:\Program Files\SCOPE SDK XITE\App\Dll). You need the VS 2013 runtime dir too (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784.
Example pro (incl):
Attachment:
midi2cv.png
midi2cv.png [ 60.2 KiB | Viewed 745 times ]


Attachments:
midi2cv.zip [742.97 KiB]
Downloaded 21 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
At the moment, only one instance is useful. If someone needs more than one, just reply and ask for it. I might have an idea, to make each module unique.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 213
Location: Canada
Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
YiannisK wrote:
Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.

If you got a MIDI keyboard controller, it might have some CC controller as well (buttons, sliders, pots etc). If any of these can produce CCs (Continuous Controls), you can use these outputs to control any potentiometer in Scope. It can be volume, frequency, time - whatever comes to mind. AS exmaple, you can control the frequency of a LP Filter like a Wah-Wah from your keyboard. If you keyboard controller allows a foot pedal: her you have your wah control connect the Midi2CV out to the LP Filter F control, push the T button, move the pedal, push T again and you're done.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 512
Location: UK
Looks very interesting, and thanks for the example use. I look forward to trying this out, and congrats on your first device. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1421
Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
jksuperstar wrote:
Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?

I can do that. But you'll always have a step, because there is no in-between state. Value is either 54 or 55, but never 54.6. On the other side, if you have an idea, I'm open to suggestions. Another way would be using 14-bit (N)RPN input. I can do that too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: MIDI modules
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 201
A new module: external MIDI IN. If uou encounter note-hanging, push the off-button. To selct the Midi In device, push show and select the device from the combobox. Enjoy!
Attachment:
ext midi in.png
ext midi in.png [ 20.4 KiB | Viewed 633 times ]

If you encounter hanging notes, please tell me. There is a speed limit within Scope, which gives problems at BPM > 160. I might need to increase the buffer.


Attachments:
extmidiin.zip [1.18 MiB]
Downloaded 25 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group