Need guide to go from standard module to modular

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.
DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:52 pm

I can put my EG and array loader together as simple module, but modular refuses to load it. What steps are necessary, to create a modular module, which can be accepted by Modular?

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 637
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by sharc » Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:46 pm

The quick answer to this one if you don't care about the right-click poly/single mode switching functionality is to modify a modular 1 module - http://www.modularsynth.co.uk/modular1.shtml

Otherwise... :wink:

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:58 pm

For testing, I'd love to do that (even though the surface is quite ugly), but right-clicking doesn't do anything resembling open for editing or mono/poly. So, please otherwise...

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by faxinadu » Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:22 pm

modular modules don't have a "surface". the surface itself is in the circuit. it is super frustrating but as done by adern, bc modular and others it can be done. you edit the surface in the top level of the circuit, and the circuit in the levels below. like mentioned, the best way is to take an existing module and edit it. good luck!

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:55 pm

I think I understand that. But my problem is, I can't see a way to insert an existing dsp/ScopeFx module into the modular module.
I'm not getting at the circuit at all.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by faxinadu » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:27 am

you need an unlocked modular module for that.

what module are you using to try?

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by faxinadu » Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:40 am

add my on facebook we can chat about stuff -

https://www.facebook.com/FaxiNadu

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:07 am

faxinadu wrote:you need an unlocked modular module for that.

what module are you using to try?
OK, we are getting somewhere. What modular module could be unlocked? And I'm trying a MS EG module combined with a loader module (written by me) to become a modular module.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:23 am

faxinadu wrote:add my on facebook we can chat about stuff -

https://www.facebook.com/FaxiNadu
Done

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:31 pm

I have got an unlocked modular module. I can replace the inner circuit with my stuff, but I haven't found a way, to create the required surface objects (like pot, button and jacks) on the surface. In the project tree, I can see they are paced under ControlChild, but don't show up in the surface. And when do the in/out jacks appear?

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by JoPo » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:18 pm

If anyone, one day has the courage to write a guide to build a simple modular module in SDK, I hope he'll not forget to upload it somewhere easy to find ! :D
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:17 am

JoPo wrote:If anyone, one day has the courage to write a guide to build a simple modular module in SDK, I hope he'll not forget to upload it somewhere easy to find ! :D
I promise! I've got the time, the means and the tools. I still need someone to push me in the right direction, but when it's done, a doc will be the answer!

User avatar
Sounddesigner
Posts: 864
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:06 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by Sounddesigner » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:47 am

Wolf gives SDK tips here - http://wolf-audio.com/wad/scope-dp/scope-dp.html

Warp69 and another posted files with SDK info here - http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... 3&start=40

Don't know if these will be helpful or not but worth looking into.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by JoPo » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:13 am

Great, Dragon ! :) I'm impatient !

And thanks for those useful links, sounddesigner ! :wink:

Now, the only missing thing is ..... Time ! :roll:
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:23 am

Sounddesigner wrote:Wolf gives SDK tips here - http://wolf-audio.com/wad/scope-dp/scope-dp.html

Warp69 and another posted files with SDK info here - http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... 3&start=40

Don't know if these will be helpful or not but worth looking into.
Thanks for the links. But the thing I'm looking for (modular modules surface pads) still remains to be a mystery.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by faxinadu » Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:37 am

here too eh :/ the only way i found so far is to use a module with the i/o i want and modify. i managed to duplicate controls though, but not to add ones. like if it has a fader i can duplicate it and have other faders, but if i try to add a control by myself from the folders it doesn't work. hmm

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 637
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by sharc » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:59 am

I've put the first part of a tutorial together. Hope it helps - http://www.bcmodular.co.uk/forum/viewto ... f=35&t=349
DragonSF wrote:...the thing I'm looking for (modular modules surface pads) still remains to be a mystery.
After exporting Pads from the circuit inside your modular module make sure you're in circuit mode and you should see the Pads on the top level. You then just need to delete the Pad Text, swap out the bitmap for the Pad and move it into position on the module.
faxinadu wrote:...i managed to duplicate controls though, but not to add ones. like if it has a fader i can duplicate it and have other faders, but if i try to add a control by myself from the folders it doesn't work. hmm
Make sure you're in surface mode. Drop the new control into the project window and position it on the module before moving it into the ControlChild folder in the Project Explorer.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by JoPo » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:09 am

WoarR ! Shark ! You are irreplaceable ! Thanks a LOT ! :)

I don't have even a minute, right now but asap, I'll follow that..! Let's encourage new developers !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by faxinadu » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:25 am

aweeeeeeeeesome!!!!!!!!! thanks mate :D good stuff!

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Need guide to go from standard module to modular

Post by DragonSF » Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:01 pm

sharc wrote:I've put the first part of a tutorial together. Hope it helps - http://www.bcmodular.co.uk/forum/viewto ... f=35&t=349
DragonSF wrote:...the thing I'm looking for (modular modules surface pads) still remains to be a mystery.
After exporting Pads from the circuit inside your modular module make sure you're in circuit mode and you should see the Pads on the top level. You then just need to delete the Pad Text, swap out the bitmap for the Pad and move it into position on the module.
faxinadu wrote:...i managed to duplicate controls though, but not to add ones. like if it has a fader i can duplicate it and have other faders, but if i try to add a control by myself from the folders it doesn't work. hmm
Make sure you're in surface mode. Drop the new control into the project window and position it on the module before moving it into the ControlChild folder in the Project Explorer.
Beware: not all controls can be used like that. A button (for ex.) will work, but not the on-off button. No idea yet why. But Simon, thanks a lot. It makes things much clearer.

Post Reply