PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Okay, good point. I will play around with the SDK when I get a chance.

Thanks!

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
I will experiment with it today and let you know if it's possible to do what I want to do...

I just finished reinstalling my music desktop. So all the plugins and SDK are gone gone gone...

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
I really need help...

I installed the SDK and put in my key. I can drag and drop some stuff. But I cannot open the important stuff (DSP module list). This USED to work! What am I doing wrong? The basic modules are no help to me.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yessss! Checked my email archive of about 13,000 messages. I found the additional key to allow viewing the DSP module list.

Let me look around the 1000 modules now :lol:

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Well,

I looked at all the modules. And it won't work. I need a lookup table and just addition. Few lines of assembler code. I don't want to use analog style FM. It eats all my DSP.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Anyone?

Does anybody knows a guy that knows a guy? I have a lot of free time on my hands. hmm...

Who do I talk to? Should I email S|C directly?

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
I sent an email to Sonic Core. I hope they forgive me for my bad German. Last time I took German was like hmm 15 years ago. Forgot it all.

:D

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 413
Location: London, U.K.
Your best bet is to post a message on the BC Modular forum (http://bcmodular.co.uk/forum/), which Simon (sharc) and Roy Thinnes (cwmodular) frequent. There are some developer forums there, where we discuss device implementation etc.

Simon and I are both quite busy these days (Roy probably is too!), so please be patient :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Thanks!

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 522
ive made a variable wavetable some time ago;
should be what youre looking for;
still you would need a dll to fill the array data sync;

inputs are
frequency put a sync frequ here
array data[512]
index from 0 to 511

output is the wave

good vibes


Attachments:
mdl.zip [7.84 KiB]
Downloaded 25 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 522
if you put 2 or more dsp files on same dsp they share the dataarray;
means you just had to fill it once with different readouts;
for example:
if you fill with a sinus and the 2 dsp atoms are on same dsp;
you can have 2 or more sinuses output at different frequency at same time;
how much you can put on same dsp depends on the dsp used;
i do not remember atm how much are possible on old dsp

good vibes from vienna


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Hi,

Thanks for your input. But the table will not hold a wavetable. Just a lookup table, probably no more than 1024 bytes.

I really see no way making this work without having the magic dongle from Sonic Core. Any they're not getting back to me, maybe I sent it to the wrong email...

I have like at least 10 books on DSP that I got for a dollar each. Most of them start off with hardcore mathematical equations which are of no use. There are couple of good ones with examples.

Oh yes, I implemented a very simple synth in Java some 15 years ago. I think it took me about 3 days while doing QA and waiting for the test cases to complete. The oscillators are very simple, so they have aliasing, and the envelope is not a real ADSR envelope. There is no GUI.

Yes, it does make sound.

http://www.thomaslaskowski.com/?page_id=136

Greetings from Canada!

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 522
well you can put in 512 values of 32 bit integer each;
more than 1024bytes
a wtbl is a lookuptbl;
as i said it is what you are asking for;


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
not exactly... because I want floating point numbers in there and I need to do addition on them. How can I do that the easy way using just the stock SDK?

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 522
float2int to the input and
int2float output vibes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1420
Why floating point anyways? 32bit integers have better resolution than 32bit floats.

You just have to be a little more careful with any gain structure you use on integers vs floats (if you use envelopes for interpolation/spline/smoothing/anti-aliasing).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
It will make my life a lot easier. I want to use the original DX7 algorithms. And the lookup table uses really really low precision floating numbers... I want to sound like something made in the 80s and use little DSP.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 1536
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oh,

I also would like to create SID oscillators and filter (Did this in an FPGA a really long time ago) But the filter had to be done on a microcontroller.

Don't forget the good old AdLib. Some nice sounds...

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1420
And tgstgs, this could be a very cool addition to the modules we have! The fact that loading multiple modules on the same DSP means you can not only get multiple voices from the same wavetable, but you can get granular behavior on the shorter wavetables.

Can you make a module to write to the wavetable? A sequencer can then control the loading of realtime audio into the wavetable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The big question, SDK 6 and PCI
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 522
put a fader to sync in 0 for frequency
apply rangetext to the inputs 1 and 2
set 0 to index rangetext
set whatever value to assign to array[0];
set 1 to index rangtext
set value for array[1]
and so on;
no overflow errorcorrection (this would cost resources)
so never index below 0 or aboth 511 !!!!
this would write somewhere in the dsp memory!!!
you can do this per hand (manually)
but as these are sync inputs you can precalculate the table;
matlab excel or whatever;
and fill the array sync;
or for example a sync counter from 0 to 511 loop with a gate as starter;
and apply an audio outpad to the datain;
i was using 2 of them for smooth crossover switching of waveforms;

hope that helps vibes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group