SDK requirement

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
frokka
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Norway

SDK requirement

Post by frokka » Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:42 am

Just wondering, the choice of releasing the SDK only to 14 DSP card owners,
it this likely a business oriented decision, or are there technical barriers for the SDK with combinations of 3 and 6 DSP cards? If say someone has 2 Pulsar II's and one Luna, totalling 15 DSPs, they also spent just as much money as someone with a 14 DSP card (or actually more), so I don't quite see how a financial concern could be warranted.


/frokka

User avatar
kylie
Rank-o-phile
Posts: 2129
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Dresden / Germany

Re: SDK requirement

Post by kylie » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:19 am

frokka wrote:Just wondering, the choice of releasing the SDK only to 14 DSP card owners,
it this likely a business oriented decision, or are there technical barriers for the SDK with combinations of 3 and 6 DSP cards?
it is primarily a decision of CW/SC that was not explained further when made. if you think they're going to tell you why you might ask them (but, to be honest, I would be surprised if they did).
I like to think of it as a combination of several reasons. ;)
--
I'm sorry, but my karma just ran over your dogma.

User avatar
next to nothing
Posts: 2483
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: SDK requirement

Post by next to nothing » Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:36 am

Its a business desicion. And i dont blame them by the way.

One of the more prominent release on this platform was built on Scope DP running on a 7DSP system as far as i know.
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

Post Reply