Surfface

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
winger
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Surfface

Post by winger » Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:52 pm

Just wondering if there is a way with the sdk to create a device that works like the 2448 mixer where when you select a channel the display reflects the setting of a different channel. How is this done, or can't it be done with the sdk alone?

Mark
mark winger

User avatar
Shroomz~>
Posts: 5669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: The Blue Shadows

Re: Surfface

Post by Shroomz~> » Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:37 pm

Can explain in more detail exactly what you're trying to do?

winger
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Re: Surfface

Post by winger » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:13 am

I am working on a mixer type of device. I would like to have a view of information the way the 2448 mixer does. You see the compressor, eq graph and auxes for one channel at a time in the master section, but the channel display has limited controls. If you select a different channel, that master display changes to show the controls of the channel.

In other words, I want to have controls on a single display that change based on selecting the channel from another display. Can something like this be done with the sdk?

Another option would be a way to clck a button on a channel to change the size of it, and hide or show different elements. (the drawer concept I have seen on some like the sonic timeworks devices to is another way.

Can any of these things be done with the sdk?

The documentation for the sdk is pretty clear on how to create a circuit, but is pretty thin in the surface manipulation area.

Mark
mark winger

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Surfface

Post by sharc » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:44 am

Yes it's possible to do all of the things you've mentioned with the SDK.

If you start off with a surface group and place all of the surface elements (controls, text, etc.) inside the surface group (in the project explorer) you'll then be able to use the surface group 'show' pad to show/hide the group. Then if you create more pages or in the case of your mixer example you might want to just copy and paste duplicates of the surface group for one channel, you can switch between them by creating a simple logic circuit - I usually use radio buttons and 'if' modules. Hope this helps :)

winger
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Re: Surfface

Post by winger » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:55 am

interesting. I am not familiar with what you mean by surface group. Are there any examples of this in any of the modules supplied with the sdk, or do you have any very simple examples of how this is done you would be willing to share?
mark winger

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Surfface

Post by sharc » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:10 am

Check in the Surface Design\Surface Kit folder.

I can't think of any example SDK modules, but I'll knock something together for you.

User avatar
kylie
Rank-o-phile
Posts: 2129
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Dresden / Germany

Re: Surfface

Post by kylie » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:04 am

if you don't mind I'd like to take a look at those examples, too, sharc.
--
I'm sorry, but my karma just ran over your dogma.

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Surfface

Post by sharc » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:09 am

Try this one...
Surface_Groups_Example.zip
A simple paged panel
(87.2 KiB) Downloaded 115 times

winger
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Re: Surfface

Post by winger » Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:50 am

Thanks, I am out of town for a few days and so won't be able to look at it until early next week.
mark winger

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: Surfface

Post by sharc » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:22 pm

Most of the SDK modules use Surface Groups to group controls together. In the Project Explorer they've been renamed to Controls Group. One of the difficulties with using Surface Groups is that when you drop an empty group into your project, you can't see it. I usually take a note of where I've dropped the group (on one of the background scope logos) then switch to edit mode and resize and position the group. I've made the following module - The GO type has been switched to a dynamic bitmap - which might be easier to use for some.
SurfaceGroup2.zip
(1.45 KiB) Downloaded 98 times

Post Reply