MIDI processing and SDK

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
eric
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:40 pm
Location: Peterborough UK
Contact:

MIDI processing and SDK

Post by eric » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:56 am

Hey,

Do I really need a 14 DSP card to write a MIDI processor??
Can I get the SDK on my current setup just for this project? (Pulsar 1 and Pulsar 2 = 10 DSP's)

I'm envious of Cap who just got his and itching to get building!

Also, my Pulsar 1 card has NO licence keys at all. Does the DSP load get leveled across both cards anyway or does it only use DSP's on the card with the licence key for that product?

Eric.
Your mouse has moved. Windows must be restarted for these settings to take effect.

Eric Northwood - Data Recovery Specialist
http://www.datarecoveryaus.com.au

User avatar
capacitor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:39 pm

Re: MIDI processing and SDK

Post by capacitor » Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:05 am

For sure it'll level across cards - just verified it myself with a no-key P1. Note that some people have reported somewhat reduced pci bandwidth & possible stability issues when mixing gen1 & gen2 cards. So far I haven't noticed it fwiw.

AFAIK gotta have the full SDK license to get the midi bits, meaning a full card.

I'm sure this is rubbing it in :lol: :P :wink:
The first action people should take is to remove cash from Banrural, and break the banks of corrupt people. #escandalogt

User avatar
capacitor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:39 pm

Re: MIDI processing and SDK

Post by capacitor » Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:08 am

I think he knows this. :roll:

:lol:
The first action people should take is to remove cash from Banrural, and break the banks of corrupt people. #escandalogt

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 8000
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MIDI processing and SDK

Post by astroman » Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:38 am

...Do I really need a 14 DSP card to write a MIDI processor??...
no idea what you're planning, but if... you're really serious about a Midi processor, do yourself a favour and avoid SFP completely.
There is nothing and I really mean nothing at all that a DSP could do for you in this context.
It just doesn't match, it's like shopping for a six-pack of beer with a truck :D
get yourself a tidy little piece of ANSI C-Compiler and do whatever you have to do on the bits
Midi is about bits, frequently in groups of 4 (half bytes)

SFP can easily communicate with any Midi processor (outside the environment), don't even bother about timing - it's a pretty lame protocol anyway using some 30kbit per second or so.
Sometimes this (frequently propagated) 'all-under-one-hood-approch' is just plain stupid ;)

cheers, Tom

User avatar
Shroomz~>
Posts: 5669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: The Blue Shadows

Re: MIDI processing and SDK

Post by Shroomz~> » Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:08 am

astroman wrote:it's like shopping for a six-pack of beer with a truck :D
Indeed. :D

User avatar
capacitor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:39 pm

Re: MIDI processing and SDK

Post by capacitor » Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:22 pm

Mmmmmm. Beer! (although it is some of our crappy American 'lager')

Here's one example of a Midi toolkit:http://improv.sapp.org/doc/web/introduction/. I have a need for midi processing too, btw. I'm looking for an environment that'll compile under MinGW (Improv uses Visual C++).

Great advice above - external interface + program/toolkit, then feed that into Scope via a sequencer instance. :)
Attachments
6_pack_truck_003.jpg
6_pack_truck_003.jpg (81.95 KiB) Viewed 1069 times
The first action people should take is to remove cash from Banrural, and break the banks of corrupt people. #escandalogt

Post Reply