ScopeSync public launch!

Planet Z Announcements

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4583
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by at0m » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:11 am

Great page listing many many old and new midi instruments latency and jitter:
http://www.innerclocksystems.com/new%20 ... itmus.html

Also, have we gone wildly OT here...
more has been done with less

dawman
Posts: 12923
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by dawman » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:29 pm

Awesome link.

Man Or Myth..........................at0m.

Best Wishes 2U and the Family.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:06 pm

With that kind of simple modular patch, we already can transmit automation data via audio input, then convert those data into midi data and link them to any Scope device midi input...
ScopeSync_midiCC.jpg
ScopeSync_midiCC.jpg (91.07 KiB) Viewed 2273 times
That is already excellent. But the USAMO box is an awesome idea : you have a vst instrument, that means totaly normal midi tracks (and automation tracks if one wants) for editing midi cc and no midi jitter ! :o
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/usamo.html

I'd like to ask to ScopeSync team if it would be possible to make a ScopeSync vst instrument device ? As we already have the ScopeSync audio insert vst plugin And have a vst instrument in our DAW that send midi data (notes, midi cc, pitch, ...etc...) on several midi channels to Scope ! In that way, all our midi timing issues would become less boring.....? :)
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
sharc
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by sharc » Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:13 pm

JoPo wrote:I'd like to ask to ScopeSync team if it would be possible to make a ScopeSync vst instrument device ?
I'm not sure if this is what you're looking for - https://github.com/bcmodular/scopesync/ ... _1_0_2.dll

w_ellis
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by w_ellis » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:03 am

Shhh... don't spoil the surprise sharc!

If you do want to use that one, make sure to pair it up with the latest Scope module from github too, as they talk over OSC, not audio now. I actually did some ScopeSync work over the weekend (not checked in to Github yet, as it's not fully working yet), so we're slowly nudging towards the OSC release (Black Star).

I've taken long enough over it that Juce has recently added full support for VST3, so hopefully that will be working better with the next version too.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:57 pm

Euh... I don't understand nothing as usual, sorry..
I just get we'll have a surprise !

I'll try that Scope dll tomorrow.. And get the newest Scopesync too.. And maybe, I'll understand some thing.. Thanks, anyway ! Looks like a vst instrument ! :D You're very fast ! :o
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

jksuperstar
Posts: 1488
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by jksuperstar » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:38 pm

Jopo, know that the use of Audio was to overcome the MIDI disadvantages, and OSC is another way to get the job done (32bit control range, many available data change control messages, low latency) but additionally there is no need for use of ASIO channels or routing audio.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Wed Nov 11, 2015 1:33 am

Thanks, JK !
I'm always late on those new protocols.. After some research, I found that : http://opensoundcontrol.org/introduction-osc and I guess it is what I read since some time but by wondering why people talk so much about OSCillator...! :lol:

But, as I don't know NOTHING about OSC, I'd like to know how to install it, use it ...etc... Apparently, OSC is a protocol for developers, so I imagine the .dll has been done with that protocol and that's why w_ellis (I forgot again his name, sorry !) tells me to use it with the latest ScopeSync for the .dll & ScopeSync to understand each other.. Am I right ?
Is the latest Scope module from github that one : https://github.com/bcmodular/scopesync/ ... r%20Module
If it is, I'm already ready !


Anyway.. I'm going to make some testing...
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:24 am

My first result on cubase 8 : First, I copy ScopeSyncVSTInst_1_0_2.dll in the 64bit plugin folder. But I didn't find it, in cubase, as vst instrument but as fx insert, like the other ScopeSync .dll. Then I noticed it's a 32bit file, so I cut/copied it in the 32bit folder but I get exactly the same result : cubase sees it like a insert fx.

I don't know if it helps, I don't know if it's the right forum to report that, maybe it would be better in BCmodular forum ?

Many thanks !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4422
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by valis » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:09 am

JoPo wrote:My first result on cubase 8 : First, I copy ScopeSyncVSTInst_1_0_2.dll in the 64bit plugin folder. But I didn't find it, in cubase, as vst instrument but as fx insert, like the other ScopeSync .dll. Then I noticed it's a 32bit file, so I cut/copied it in the 32bit folder but I get exactly the same result : cubase sees it like a insert fx.

I don't know if it helps, I don't know if it's the right forum to report that, maybe it would be better in BCmodular forum ?

Many thanks !
Probably use that forum, it's listed at the bottom of the site with 'for any questions'.

I hope it gains enough popularity to warrant its own area here though, it looks quite interesting and I'm curious to see what use I can make of this on my ancient Scope system...the only reason I haven't is I run my DAW on a second system (I use ramps+flexor sometimes for sample accurate sync to modular with my setup) and I use Logic+OSX or Ableton+OSX for those systems.

w_ellis
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by w_ellis » Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:40 am

JoPo wrote:cubase sees it like a insert fx.
Simon and I will look into that as part of the testing for the upcoming ScopeSync release

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:42 am

Great ! I'm very impatient ! If it works like I imagine (see my post with the modular patch jpg), ScopeSync will definitely reach its "mature" state.. And I believe it should increase interest for every body using Scope !
This is fantastic, I hope SC follows your work closely and maybe integrate it in the mythical Scope 6...... Or later, but integrate ScopeSync in Scope......

Thanks a lot to all ScopeSync team ! :)
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

w_ellis
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by w_ellis » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:55 am

I'd be delighted for S|C to steal as much of the code and/or ideas from ScopeSync if they found it helpful. I've never seen it as a commercial project, just something for the community.

Having said that, I'm not sure whose soon is further in the future ;)

w_ellis
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by w_ellis » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:57 am

P.S. If only there was a genuinely portable version of the Xite, then I'd be able to do development on my commute. I'd only need 1 DSP for the stuff I'm doing!

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:50 pm

Ah! Turn every day travel time into something interesting ! I must go to work by car : there is no train, bus or else. So I listen to audio books, scientific podcasts, etc... I must not waste that time ! One hour and half per day...
Of course, developing dsp system is a bit more complicated during commute..

If you achieve to better remote control Scope via OSC or anything else, improve midi jitter, timing by workaround, I think you have your place in S|C development team ! And the community won't forget such a feat ! :o

I'm really impressed by ScopeSync & BCmodular too. You're amazing ! :)
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

krass
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by krass » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:12 am

Have been getting into ScopeSync and BC Modular here lately, it's superb! I'm finally able to have the control I always wanted. Thanks so much for developing this!

Regards,

KrasS

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4422
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by valis » Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:16 am

w_ellis wrote:I'd be delighted for S|C to steal as much of the code and/or ideas from ScopeSync if they found it helpful. I've never seen it as a commercial project, just something for the community.

Having said that, I'm not sure whose soon is further in the future ;)
Do you have your work GPL'd? Apologies if I missed it and it's clearly noted somewhere :wink:

w_ellis
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by w_ellis » Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:53 am

krass wrote:Have been getting into ScopeSync and BC Modular here lately, it's superb! I'm finally able to have the control I always wanted. Thanks so much for developing this!
Great to hear about people using the fruit of our labours! You never know, the new version might get released at some point too ;)
valis wrote:Do you have your work GPL'd? Apologies if I missed it and it's clearly noted somewhere :wink:
Where possible we'll use Creative Commons, or other less restrictive licencing (like MIT/BSD), but for the Juce-based stuff we need to use GPL. See here: https://github.com/bcmodular/scopesync/ ... ce/LICENSE
It's also shown during the installation process.

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 1002
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by yayajohn » Tue Dec 22, 2015 5:30 pm

w_ellis wrote: You never know, the new version might get released at some point too ;)
yay!! :)

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: ScopeSync public launch!

Post by JoPo » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:33 am

I'm realizing that Scope sync doen't work in both direction...? From DAW->Scope, no problem but in the opposit way, nothing. Nevertheless I think I setup everything correctly. Or maybe I missed something. I'd like to be sure it can or cannot work in both direction...

If it can't work in Scope->Daw direction, I don't know what the modular audio output -> Daw asio input are for...? That is why I still believe it should work in both direction........ :-?

In only one word : HELP !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

Post Reply