Wow! Open Scope!

Planet Z Announcements

Moderators: valis, garyb

sonolive
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Digital AudioSoft
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by sonolive » Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:40 am


User avatar
HUROLURA
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by HUROLURA » Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:49 am

Hey, how much PC are used there ?

4 LCD display at least. I guess 2 of them for Scope, 1 for traktor and 1 for the tact-interface ...
Last edited by HUROLURA on Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

sonolive
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Digital AudioSoft
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by sonolive » Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:04 am

1 pc / 4 displays
only problem with win7 is that a "standard plug and play" touch monitor (without drivers) under win7 can only be installed as 1st monitor ... the one that is numbered 1 ,

i also got a small chinese 10 inch monitor (parallel with the one of "traktor" on the vid) and this one can be setted up "anywhere", it's got a specific driver

any on knows how to install a standard monitor anywhere under win 7 ?

User avatar
HUROLURA
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by HUROLURA » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:12 am

I wouldn't help you on that point: my Win 7 monitor is shared with 3 other PC here (2 win XP 32 + 1 Win 98 SE) using a KVM switch. Not that much space here actually.

bosone
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by bosone » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:57 am

sonolive wrote:1 pc / 4 displays
i also got a small chinese 10 inch monitor (parallel with the one of "traktor" on the vid) and this one can be setted up "anywhere", it's got a specific driver
what's this?? can you give some info?? :)
and price, maybe! :P

User avatar
siriusbliss
Posts: 3114
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Cupertino, California US
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by siriusbliss » Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:19 am

That's cool, but don't your arms or shoulders get tired?

:)

Greg
Xite rig - ADK laptop - i7 975 3.33 GHz Quad w/HT 8meg cache /MDR3-4G/1066SODIMM / VD-GGTX280M nVidia GeForce GTX 280M w/1GB DDR3


YISH313z
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by YISH313z » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:51 am

XITE-1/4LIVE wrote: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... nxlhpt8pQw

Here ya go Olive........
The product is cool, but the music for the ad should have went nuts, with syncopated movements to the music. It fell short of convincing me.

But again awesome interface.

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by spacef » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:12 am

the emulator is awesome, tried it several times... still a bit too expensive, and dedicated to djing only. but itworks very well and visually great for connectingh the audience with live work of the dj.
it doesn't replace the feel of knobs impo

YISH313z
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by YISH313z » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:11 am

So according to The New World of Music, the Scope 6 preview should be sent out this weekend. I am Xited.

MCCY
Posts: 1195
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by MCCY » Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:47 am

My contribution to open Scope ...
MOVEQ+ is now open mdl in the device section.

User avatar
siriusbliss
Posts: 3114
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Cupertino, California US
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by siriusbliss » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:11 am

MCCY wrote:My contribution to open Scope ...
MOVEQ+ is now open mdl in the device section.
Great!

You should post this in the announcement section. :wink:

Looking forward to possibly seeing more devices in the future.

Greg

User avatar
braincell
Posts: 5901
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Shenandoah

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by braincell » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:51 am

I would like to point out that I suggested they go open source way back in the Creamware bankruptcy days. My idea was shot down by everyone in the thread. Now I see "Wow!" in the topic headline. Funny how Scope (and the users) finally came around to the correct way of thinking. It could be too late but my fingers are crossed.

dawman
Posts: 12923
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by dawman » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:13 am

Some of us here were aware of your infintite wisdom and didn't doubt you for one moment.
So in honor of your phophetic wisdom, a bust ( Ceaser-ish ) has been created.

Hail Braincell.......
Our Phophetic Leader.JPG

User avatar
braincell
Posts: 5901
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Shenandoah

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by braincell » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:18 am

I can't read any of your comments Jimmy because you are on my block list.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3730
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by dante » Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:03 pm

braincell wrote:I would like to point out that I suggested they go open source way back in the Creamware bankruptcy days. My idea was shot down by everyone in the thread. Now I see "Wow!" in the topic headline. Funny how Scope (and the users) finally came around to the correct way of thinking. It could be too late but my fingers are crossed.
Theres a difference between 'Open Scope' and 'Open Source'. Open Scope doesnt neccessarily mean S|C are going to give away thier source code.

User avatar
siriusbliss
Posts: 3114
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Cupertino, California US
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by siriusbliss » Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:43 pm

dante wrote:
braincell wrote:I would like to point out that I suggested they go open source way back in the Creamware bankruptcy days. My idea was shot down by everyone in the thread. Now I see "Wow!" in the topic headline. Funny how Scope (and the users) finally came around to the correct way of thinking. It could be too late but my fingers are crossed.
Theres a difference between 'Open Scope' and 'Open Source'. Open Scope doesnt neccessarily mean S|C are going to give away thier source code.
Exactly.

G

djmicron
Posts: 1097
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by djmicron » Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:54 am

if openscope was opensource, even the development should be open, so it's not opensource.
Image

User avatar
Bovski
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:02 pm

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by Bovski » Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:37 am

Have they decided to scrap this Idea? haven't heard anything new in ages

Open hardware would be a good idea the ADSP-21065L was originally produced prior to 1998 moore's law states that the number of transistors per square inch will double every 2 years the DSP's on scope cards communicate between each other with a serial interface so there is no reason you couldn't put more than one in a package or even on the same silicone it's now 2016 so according to moore's law the same piece of silicone should be able to hold 512 DSP Cores per chip.

A 15dsp card can communicate with a PC over a PCI bus 110MB/s that's around 7.333MB/s per DSP.

A Single lane PCI Express 1.0a could transfer 250MB/s, PCI Express 2.0, 500MB/s, , PCI Express 3.0, 985MB/s

A 4 Lane PCI Express 3.0 slot should be able to transfer 3940MB/s

512 DSP Cores @ 7.333MB/s per core = 3754.496 MB/s

Yes I'm aware it isn't quite that simple but the maths certainly works.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1297
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Wow! Open Scope!

Post by faxinadu » Sun Dec 11, 2016 5:10 am

afaik at the moment this isn't happening

Post Reply