Audio Drop outs

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:34 am

Hello There!

I got a problem with my new PC. Little drop outs when playing VST instruments. Not randomly - but every minute maybe.
Even when I recorded a track and let playback.
Latency Monitor says 10.
I did all otimizations which Gary and all others had already mentioned. No IRQ sharing on WIN 10.
Board Gigabyte H170 D3-HP with 3 PCI Slots and three Pulsar 2 Cards.
1 GB SSD Drive
2x2 GB Normal Disc
AHCI Mode with newest Intel drivers
All Bios tweaks
All WIN 10 tweaks.
Scope running in higher priority
ULLI 10 ms at 44.1 Audio drop outs getting better at higher values. But I could run 4 ms on my old XP DAW!



Maybe someone got an idea with a similar setup?

Thanks!

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21709
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by garyb » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:09 am

well, there are many different possible sources for dropouts. what vstis are you using?

have you looked for an updated bios?

win10 is not at all like XP, although the interface looks pretty much the same. you should get 4ms without dropouts, though.

nebelfuerst
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by nebelfuerst » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:36 am

Although its german, there is an article at steinberg explaining audio-dropouts at win10 with multicore cpus.
Seems like win10 is a piece of crap concerning audio.

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/de/a ... CPU-Setups

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by valis » Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:15 pm

As always it depends on how your system is configured. Start by running LatencyMon to see if you have a driver causing issues with DPC latency. Disable onboard devices using 3rd party controller chips if they are not in use. Make sure that you don’t have software running from the motherboard maker or etc that attempts to “tune-up” system performance on the fly, most of this software is crap. Insure that your BIOS/EFI settings are appropriate and not tuned for extreme performance profiles...

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1443
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Bud Weiser » Fri Jul 27, 2018 6:43 pm

nebelfuerst wrote:
Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:36 am
Although its german, there is an article at steinberg explaining audio-dropouts at win10 with multicore cpus.
Seems like win10 is a piece of crap concerning audio.

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/de/a ... CPU-Setups
english ...
https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... CPU-setups

bummer though ...

Bud

Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:38 am

Thank you for the hints!
I try this afternoon.
BTW. How can I figure out in LatencyMon, that a drivers is causing issues?
High Values?

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1103
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germoney

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Marco » Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:14 am

If your audio drops out it jumps into a bush and comes out after a while :lol:
Last edited by Marco on Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:51 am

I wished it had jumped already - I would close the PC - so it could not come back :)

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1103
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germoney

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Marco » Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:06 am

Yes sometimes we would like to throw the whole PC into the bush if it doesn't do what you like. Patience with the patient is important. PCs are like woman, you must be kind and you need to know or guess what they want.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

Music Manic
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Music Manic » Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:39 am

If it’s happening every minute a background app using a graphics card or internet is probably kicking in.

Does it drop out if you just leave it running without touching anything?

Which background apps are running? Post your process monitor chart.

Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:26 am

GaryB:
1. I´m using in that song: Omnisphere - EZ-keys - Stylus RMX
2. Bios is uptodate

Even though I was quite good in XP for tweaking the system and understood PC stuff quite well, I realized that Win10 is different.>
The bios is new and has so many different featurus I don`t what they are good/bad for.
I know that fiddeling around on 20 different places in the system and I learned to be patiened. I really read everything here.
I know I will figure it out - but I always appreciated this forum as a starting point, when building a new DAW. Here is profound help and not loquacity overtweaking guys:).

I left the song alone running in an 8 bar cycle and trird to figure out, if it happens on the same part of the cycle. But it is not that way. Sometimes it runs through for 2 repeats and then it crackles two times quickly in 2 seconds.
And it gets better, if you disable omnisphere or RMX - or if I set the ULLI real high. But even at the highest ULLI it still crackles - not so often, but it still does. It looks like the system is stressend somewhere.

I will send the process monitar chart tomorrow!

Thank you dudes

nebelfuerst
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by nebelfuerst » Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:47 am

W10 is totally messed up with functions I don't want.
I use this tool to get control over W10.

https://www.winprivacy.de/english-home/

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1103
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germoney

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Marco » Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:20 pm

Maybe your System has not enough RAM. Or your graphics card is stressed by old drivers.... or just install Windows new.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21709
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by garyb » Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:38 pm

or the graphics card is bad and the cpu is doing the actual work, or...

Omnisphere is a big hog, even though it sounds great.

all Windows updates are current?

Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Sun Jul 29, 2018 5:35 am

Just a quick question.
When I open the task manager it shows SCOPE (32bit).
I´m quite sure I installed the 64 bit version. Is that only a writing error or do you dudes have written SCOPE (64 bit) there?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21709
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by garyb » Sun Jul 29, 2018 7:55 am

it's not an error.

the 32bit portion is just the gui for the Scope hardware. the interface with Windows is 64bit.

Dtrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:29 am

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Dtrain » Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:09 am

Hi Gary!

I thought so!
Graphic card is intern Intel HD 630 with latest drivers - shoul be fine!!
I reset the bios to default values today and disabled Hyperthreading - Speed shift and EIST one after another.
Result is the same still pops.
I give it a try tomorrow again!
Balcony time and reset my own bios with a glass of wine!
Thanks again!!

User avatar
Tau
Posts: 787
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Audio Drop outs

Post by Tau » Sun Jul 29, 2018 11:56 am

I had the same problem on a windows 10 pc, audio dropouts every 5 minutes or so. I tried many things, eventually, disabling the LAN card on the BIOS sorted it. Not the best option, but I had already updated all drivers, went through the optimizations, Latency Checker, etc etc, but nothing worked until I did this.
I don't need LAN in that particular computer, so I'm happy, as I absolutely need 0 dropouts while recording to vinyl.
This was on a Lenovo X220, WIN10 came preinstalled. All my other audio PCs use WIN7.

Post Reply