Creamware A16 Power Supply?

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
paugui
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 5:50 am

Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by paugui » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:47 pm

Hi all

I just sold my Creamware A16, but since I needed the power supply I was using with it for other gear, I decided to sell the Creamware A16 without it.

I didn't take any photos of the power area, but the new owner doesn't seem to understand what power supply he must use.

Does anyone has the complete specifications for it?
I am away from the studio now, and am unable to check that...


Thanks in advance
Best regards

Paulo

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germoney

Re: Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by Marco » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:04 am

That's it! :o Y really sold it without the power supply? :roll:
Attachments
IMG_20180129_140549.jpg
IMG_20180129_140549.jpg (3.29 MiB) Viewed 835 times
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4664
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by valis » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:10 am

PSU must convert from source mains (120 or 240V, AC) to DC 19Volts, 2Amps. Post the connector end as well!

dawman
Posts: 13224
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by dawman » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:23 pm

Jameco electronics carries fantastic replacement power supplies.
I have spares for every PSU I need, even the XITE-1.

https://www.jameco.com/c/Power-Supplies ... pters.html

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germoney

Re: Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by Marco » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:28 am

You have a Laptop at home already die? Im shure!

If you have a Laptop Power supply, this works great on mine. It has 6 Ampere instead of 2A but the Trick is, ONE Powersupply provides the Power for 3 A16 all together. Works great!
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 8000
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Creamware A16 Power Supply?

Post by astroman » Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:55 am

I've mentioned it numerous times: imho the best PSU for the blue A16 is an original IBM Thinkpad PSU (16V, 4.5A)
There are countless on eBay for a few bucks.

Main advantage: the PSU has internal auto switch off if no load is connected, no need to unplug.
Even better: the A16 has a very strange regulator design which emit a LOT of heat - with the Thinkpad PSU the regulator seems to have much less to do and the unit stays handwarm even without the fan.
I didn't detect any quality loss or strange sideeffects.

Beware: some cheapo no-name switching PSUs may turn the A16 into a frying pan within minutes.
I've checked this myself with an 18V 2A type myself. It's really strange.

cheers, Tom

Post Reply