Revival of Creamware Scope/SP from 2001 (15 DSP PCI)

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

alberto

Revival of Creamware Scope/SP from 2001 (15 DSP PCI)

Post by alberto »

Greetings Planet Z community! This is my first post in this forum. I already read a few topics regarding what I am trying to learn/achieve but I could not find up to date information. So my apologies in advance if my questions have been asked already by other users or if I chose the wrong section for addressing what follows.

I have a Creamware Scope/SP from 2001 (15 DSP) conventional PCI connection, which I have been using for so many years with great performance, including ULLI supporting 3ms (if memory serves me well).
In the last few years I did not use it that much, because I was traveling and because the Apple G4 (running Mac OS9) where the audio card is mounted in has become extremely noisy and bothersome to work with (I believe most of the noise or all the noise comes from the fan).

But that Scope card, as we all know, is just brilliant and sounds like nothing else if compared to other similar equipment. A jewel to me. I want it back in my studio arsenal, so I have been considering two options:

1) To build a new PC around it, running W10 or W7 on 32 bit, but after hours and hours of reading around this forum, I still did not get to a final conclusion regarding what latest generation of MoBos is fully compatible with Scope's conventional PCI. The most recent info I found concerns Z97 MoBos based on Socket LGA 1050, 1051 and 1056 (excluding the 1055), but Z97 is already a pretty much outdated option = not new enough.
- So if someone would be so kind to let me know which latest generation of MoBo is fully compatible without performance drop, maybe Chipset Z370 on Socket 1051?
- And what about AMD?
(AM1, AM2, AM3, FM1, FM2 I am totally confused about those).