PlanetZ@scopeusers.com
http://forums.scopeusers.com/

ADAT and stability
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=34986
Page 1 of 1

Author:  babaorum [ Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:13 am ]
Post subject:  ADAT and stability

On my Pulsar I plugged ADAT to an ADA8200, with the ADAT input/output A the vu-meter on the micro mixer which I use for the ADAT input sent regularly peaks (every 4 secondes) , on the ADA8200 led indicated that the connection was sync :oops: so I decided to plug instead the ADAT input/output B it seems like it's ok for the first time.

But when I re-open my project cubase in another session the same issue appeared (peaks of the ADAT inputs from the ADA8200 (it's a new one). I had to click on SLAVE and re-click on MASTER and after it was sync ... so this installation seems to be very unstable, do you have tips or tricks to use ADAT 'rock solid' ?
(my cables are immobilized by a piece of carton because in the ADA8200 they didn't stop to move if I moved my rack ... )

Author:  garyb [ Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ADAT and stability

it sounds like there is an issue with the physical connection. some types of cables don't fit the ports well.

if sync is good, it will be solid. there aren't any tricks...

you might try cleaning the ports and ends of the cables with compressed air. even a small dust spec can make things unstable.

Author:  valis [ Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ADAT and stability

Some years ago I had my scope machine in another room and a very long ADAT cables to make the reach. The cables were not bad quality but I still occasionally would record sample tics where it would lose sync for a sample or two, adding a sync plate and using BNC as my sink reference for Clarke solved this.

Author:  ronnie [ Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ADAT and stability

How much does Clarke charge to fix sink? :wink:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/