PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 8:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
I’ve got a Pulsar II card with version 5 of SCOPE for a friend of mine who lives in Mexico and wants to broadcast professionally, I recommended him a Pulsar card. He is a complete starter, so I am trying to give him a hand remotely. Through TeamViewer, I am trying to install his card, but there is a problem when I try it.

When he bought the card, he was given a CD with a version of SCOPE software 5, and the key.

I installed Scope, then C++ 2008 redistributable for Win 32, he has Win 7 32 as an OS. I import the key to SCOPE and it succeeds doing it, but then, the following installation error appears:

Installation error or invalid activation key!
Cannot start the SCOPE application! (E001A)

What is wrong? Is it me that has forgotten how to install the software, so long I did not install it, or there is a problem with the key? What is the following step so?

Thanks guys

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
check the keyfile. what's in it? do the keys match the car's serial number?
maybe the previous owner lied about what keys the card actually possessed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
garyb wrote:
check the keyfile. what's in it? do the keys match the car's serial number?
maybe the previous owner lied about what keys the card actually possessed.


Ok, thank you Gary. I will do that, I'll ask my friend to sen me the Key, then I will open it and see.

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
Hello Gary

Ok, I think the problem is that there was not a driver when I tried to install the software. I believed the driver was already installed for some reason, but it was not. So I uninstalled SCOPE and started all over.

Now, when I try to install the driver, there are no driver in the CD. In the CD we have:
SONIC_CORE_SCOPE_PC_V5.0.2617_EN
keyfile.v5
Plugins folder
Synths folder

This number: AA5790R0M it is written before every plugin number, and it is what you can see when you try to register, in the box in SCOPE software. I’m not sure about what should I do, but I guess I need the 32 bit driver to go along the 5.0 version of SCOPE. Where can I find the driver? It is not in the Sonic Core web, at least, I did not find it.

I opened the file keyfile.v5 with Notepad++, and to this:

(I have deleted the keys as requested)

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
the driver is part of the installation.

there's no v5 key there that i see. there are just v5 keys for optional plugins.

you should delete the actual keys from the post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 602
Location: Modular IV
between "sc samplers" and "sc basics" is an entry "sc scope v5 application" is this the v5 key?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
ooops! missed that. good eye!

yes.

the card's serial number is AA5790R0M ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:09 am
Posts: 113
You didn't mention if you ran the installer in admin mode and/or tried the XP compability mode for the installer, i recommend trying both.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
Thanks guys! :)

Let us get at it one by one:

1- I deleted the keys from the post.
2- The driver is part of the installation, yes, but it did not appear anywhere. I remember I used to install the driver “before” the software installation, long ago.
3- I think so, that this is the card’s serial number AA5790R0M.
4- Yes, I did run the installer in admin mod, but did not tried the XP compatibility.

Now, which should so be my procedure now? I would have a guess:

Uninstall everything. Restart the computer. Install the software in which it should be included the driver, all in admin mode. If this doesn’t work, start all over again and try XP compatibility.

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
you don't have to do any backflips to install v5 in win7 32bit.

are you sure the card is really fully in the slot(physically)?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
garyb wrote:
you don't have to do any backflips to install v5 in win7 32bit.

are you sure the card is really fully in the slot(physically)?



Mmmm, good point, no, I don't, the PC is in Mexico, but I will teach my frind how to check for it. Cheers.

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
I uninstalled everything to start with, then restarted and installed again and the installetion recognized the driver immediately, the card is properly recognized by the way so it is properly installed for sure. Then I restarted and installed SCOPE 5.

I’ve got a “wrong activation key” message nevertheless, but the software loaded anyway. Then, when SCOPE was open, the top bar did not show any of the sections like Synths – Effects, Hardware IOs, etc., etc. I guess I need an activation key again, not sure.

Should I request a string as suggested by the software itself to SC?

Cheers

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
ok, but you better identify yourself, because normally there are no new v5 keyfiles made. only v5.1 are available...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
A question please:

Do you mean that I ask for a key but with my name? If this is the case, no problem, I can do that to help my friend, he is a very close person to me, so he would not mind at all.

UPDATE: My friend has just written to me, and told me he has this message when trying to load Scope:

Cannot get board handle, Pulsar2 (brd=) not installed or already in use.
Please check installation and configuration!"


Cheers

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20811
Location: ghetto by the sea
broken card?
dirty contacts?

i mean, remind me of this conversation when you write in.
we do not usually make new v5 keyfiles...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
garyb wrote:
broken card?
dirty contacts?

i mean, remind me of this conversation when you write in.
we do not usually make new v5 keyfiles...


Ok, I'm going to verify more in depth... let us see...

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
Thank you so very much from me and from my friend Christian! He doesn't speak English so I tell you this in his name. Thank you Gary! Again! :)

It was a dirty motherboard problem. Everything went just fine by itself without the need to reinstall the software, once the card made proper contact, the card loaded with its serial number and all. This particular motherboard has been used for quite a few years already, and it has, most probably, a good amount of dirt build into the empty PCI slots.

He cleaned it with a compressed air can first and then with a rather none traditional method that seems to work well too, without being agrresive to the componets, a rubber:

Image

I am surprised at the amount of plugins he has for the price he paid for the card, 175 Euros! He has most synths, everything from Zarg, etc… and he has got a MIDI mixer too, for free. I don't remember the name now.

THAN YOU! :wink:

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 512
Location: UK
Yes I remember seeing that list you posted before all the great devices that board had registered to it. Your friend has got a great deal, wow, all those for only Euro 175, that was a real bargain. I just paid more than double that for a pulsar II (also with a decent plugin list) and it was still worth it to get some of those great older devices that are no longer available.

And for your friend, especially now that he has fixed the issue using a rubber (in USA you say eraser, because rubber means something else entirely, haha :). Yes using a rubber (eraser) is a good way to clean up contacts, just have to be a bit careful when doing it not to damage the contacts. So well done and glad your friend has fixed his card, so hope he loves Scope as much as we all do :)

Cheers :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 6151
Location: Fourth Dimension Paradise, Cloud Nine!
Yes, he is a lucky person for sure! But he is not actually a musician… He is a professional broadcaster, and he will be using Pulsar for this purpose. It is a shame to lose the use of all these synths, but well, this is what he needs and what he does :)

Ups… sorry, I understand now the meaning, I better say eraser, ok :oops:

Cheers :wink:

_________________
*MUSIC* The most Powerful Language in the world! *INDEED*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem installing Pulsar II Software
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 512
Location: UK
Yes it does seem a bit of a shame that your friend doesn't need all those lovely devices. Oh well, maybe he can make his broadcasts more interesting by mixing in a bit of Solaris or Synchrotron synth with his commentary, or perhaps make his voice change using patches from modular or some scope effects...LOL, just joking. :) But I am sure he will explore Scope more when he has time. And you can show your friend all the cool things Scope can do. :)

Anyway, glad it all worked out well, cheers :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group