PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
But notion 6.0 works and 6.1 doesn't ??

Is n't asio a standard ?

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Use VM and don't unload the ASIO driver in the background... that defeats VM as multi-client.

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
Use VM and don't unload the ASIO driver in the background... that defeats VM as multi-client. This sounds like the snarky PortAudio ASIO issue.

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Last edited by ronnie on Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: ghetto by the sea
JoPo, it's a protocol.
unfortunately, many programmers are using options to set up the soundcard. since Scope cards aren't soundcards, but can be used as soundcards, they cannot communicate with the app in this way. it's the same reason that there's no control panel for the Scope card in the sequencer. unfortunately, the coders sometimes just assume that every will use a windows soundcard. it would be pretty easy to write the program so that if it could not set up the soundcard, it would time out and skip that function, but instead it just causes an error and the app ignores the driver.

i think the whole situation is pretty shitty, and it's definitely the fault of the program's writers, who take the attitude that any hardware which does not work in the way that would be best for the most amateur of amateurs is defective. the Scope cards are 100% ASIO compliant. it's the apps that won't work with any hardware not calculated and controlled by the CPU.

this never used to happen. for the app to setup the soundcard automatically takes extra programming, which isn't necessary to the correct operation of the app/driver/hardware communication. it's strictly about selling units to the most casual hobbyists. that's fine, but it drags everyone else down to that basic level of toyland and really limits options. of course, this only would matter to someone who was really interested in audio and interfacing audio and computers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 296
JoPo wrote:
But notion 6.0 works and 6.1 doesn't ??

Is n't asio a standard ?

No, Notion 5 worked very well with ASIO Scope and since v6 it doesn't ...

_________________
Sonic Core Luna II + Pulsar II scope v5.1.2709-x64, Cubase 9.0.20 (64), Pro Tools 12.7, Wavelab element 9 (64), windows 8.1 pro (64), Asus P6T 18Go RAM core i7 920, SSL Duende Native - Lexicon PCM Reverb Bundle - Waves - Sonnox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 296
ronnie wrote:
Use VM and don't unload the ASIO driver in the background... that defeats VM as multi-client.

YES !!!! It works fine with VM, in rewire mode , I left Cubase with ASIO SCOPE drivers and put Notion with the VM drivers and
this morning it works in rewire mode !!!
Thanks a lot for your solution !
GREAT ! :)

_________________
Sonic Core Luna II + Pulsar II scope v5.1.2709-x64, Cubase 9.0.20 (64), Pro Tools 12.7, Wavelab element 9 (64), windows 8.1 pro (64), Asus P6T 18Go RAM core i7 920, SSL Duende Native - Lexicon PCM Reverb Bundle - Waves - Sonnox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [resolved] Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 2:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20899
Location: ghetto by the sea
i'm glad you were able to make it work!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: [resolved] Notion 6.1 crash with scope !
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Varies Between 30Hz & 20KHz
To quote garyb. " :D "

_________________
"I’ve come to the conclusion that synths are like potatoes, they’re no good raw—you’ve got to cook ‘em, and I cooked these sounds for months before I got them to the point where they sounded musical to me." Lyle Mays


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group