PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
Hallo and good morning,

@ripper:
Go to services ->Restart Audio Service and Windows Audio Endpoint Builder and check if it fixed the issue.
--> Done but unfortunately did not solve the issue.

@Gary:
did you change the ASIO driver while your audio app was open? the ASIO drivers need to be in place BEFORE opening your sequencer.
NO.

also, we cannot see which ASIO dest module you are using. the ASIO source and dest modules much match and both must be present.
Previous to this issue only the Asio source was in place (and during the re-installation/testmode activation), simply due to the rerason that I need (on this PC) only the play out path. Base on your recent post I added the Destination as well but it didn't help.


Attachment:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG [ 78.72 KiB | Viewed 538 times ]


what do your sequencer's audio settings look like?
It's onyl a DJ Software called tractor pro by Native Instruments...


Attachment:
Unbenannt1.JPG
Unbenannt1.JPG [ 16.87 KiB | Viewed 538 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:58 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm
Posts: 202
I had the same error, which was solved after restarting the sequencer once or twice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am
Posts: 97
When issues "like" this hapen to me I usually close the sequencer and the Scope software.
I then start Scope again and, after it's start up process is complete I start the sequencer again.
If it isn't solved yet I check the sample rate in both.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
@Ripper & @DragonSF - thanks for the tips. Tried everything. Doesn't work :-?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am
Posts: 97
mcm060769 wrote:
@Ripper & @DragonSF - thanks for the tips. Tried everything. Doesn't work :-?


That's not coold %=$)#(" #"/» (Hehe, hope you find the gremling :wink: )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Romania
Hello guys,

I have the same problem since Win10 update, but I am not able to fix it with the testsigning tip, even as admin. Do I miss something?

Thank you!

Victor


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Romania
Nevermind, it worked finally with GaryB tip from the Microsoft website :)

Thank you GaryB!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
Hi Victor, not sure which "GaryB tip from the Microsoft website" you refer to. Assume it is...

Attachment:
Unbenannt1.JPG
Unbenannt1.JPG [ 98.54 KiB | Viewed 514 times ]


Refering to....

Attachment:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG [ 102.12 KiB | Viewed 514 times ]


Tried that way as well without any change. It does not work. Just to make clear, installation executed without any fault and the scope application worked after re-installation. The only problem is the Asio issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
Does anybody have an additional idea ? :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20816
Location: ghetto by the sea
run the sequencer in win7 or win8 compatibility mode.

right click on the icon and choose "properties". click on the "compatibility" tab and then choose win7 or win8.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
I tried Win7 and Win 8 compatibility mode. Indipendent from which I chose the system crashes with a blue screen saying SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION - failure reason: scScope.sys
:-?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20816
Location: ghetto by the sea
then there's something wrong in the computer's environment.
you are not the only person using that sequencer, but yours is the one that does not work.

blue screens usually indicate a hardware issue. the fact that the Scope driver is in the middle of the crash, doesn't mean that it's the cause of the crash.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
Interesting that such a hardware issue become visible after a major windows update. Any sugestion how to go forward to isolate the reason ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20816
Location: ghetto by the sea
that's Live that doesn't work, correct?

no, i don't know where to start. what is sharing an IRQ with the card?

that's very strange that ASIO worked in the past with only a source module. it shouldn't...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
No Gary, it is Tractor Scratch, a DJ audio application. Asio shouldn't work in the past....agree, interesting.
Here is the screen dump that might answer your question....

Attachment:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG [ 48.96 KiB | Viewed 477 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20816
Location: ghetto by the sea
oh...
i don't know how well Tractor works with Scope. i'm pretty sure someone has used it.

the IRQ sharing looks ok.


have you tried other ASIO apps?

some apps these days try to set up the soundcard when they open. since a Scope card is NOT a windows soundcard(it's not controlled by the windows app. it's external hardware as far as windows is concerned), those apps will freeze or crash, since the card will not respond to the app's queries and will time out. if this is the case with Tractor, then it can probably only be fixed by NI.

a workaround might be either ASIO4all or using something that allows sharing of a non-multiclient ASIO driver with other apps like Reaper using ReaRoute. there was a post about a new app that made ASIO multiclient, so that way Tractor opens the virtual driver in the multiclient app instead of trying to open Scope directly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
Gary, before I go forward in that direction (Asio4All) I just recognized with winamp and foobar2000 that the standard "SoundCard" Driver doesn't work as well. I didn't use those in the past but this might be a benefitial information for us to go the right problem analysis path. However, it looks like the applications are not able to register/locate the driver. The error messages I saw are talking about missing objects, pointer errors etc.
Just to remember, the scope app works fine and all external audio interfaces like analog in/out seem to work.
In parallell I try to find an application that is lightweight (not a full live suite installation) providing a ASIO output....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20816
Location: ghetto by the sea
the "soundcard" driver is a leftover from windows 98. it was to allow playback from a soundblaster card into Scope. ignore this. it's not supposed to work the way you tried to use it.

other windows apps will use the wave driver. of course, you must make the Scope "speakers" the default playback device in windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
I guess used the wrong terms. I meant the wave driver.

For example if If try to set Sonic Core Loudspeaker as standard I can do this but sound is coming still from the previous selected output (Realtec on board sound).

Attachment:
Unbenanntselect.JPG
Unbenanntselect.JPG [ 17.45 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]


Using the winamp preferences dialog -> Nullsoft WaveOut configuration the sonic core loudspeaker appears in the device selection dialog.

Attachment:
Unbenanntoptsonic.JPG
Unbenanntoptsonic.JPG [ 33.39 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]


.....but as soon as I select the scope driver I get the following after pressing play:

Attachment:
Unbenannt2.JPG
Unbenannt2.JPG [ 32.39 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]



Regarding Asio4all I'll come back in the following post...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 - scope driver does not work since recent update
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:21 pm
Posts: 24
After installing Asio4All this appeared in the tractor:

Attachment:
Unbenannttrac.JPG
Unbenannttrac.JPG [ 37.77 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]


After selecting ASIO4ALL v2 I get the following...

Attachment:
Unbenannt.JPG
Unbenannt.JPG [ 46.03 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]


No failure from Tractor any longer. As you can see, Realtect and Pulsar appear in the list. Same behaviour...Realtec works and pulsar not.

The scope application still works wonderfull but to exchange sound between windows apps and scope app/card doesn't. Neither via wave nor Asio.

Btw in case put the mouse over the yellow symbol I get the following help text:

Attachment:
Unbenannt5.JPG
Unbenannt5.JPG [ 58.01 KiB | Viewed 448 times ]


Any suggestion ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group