PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 10:05 pm
Posts: 10
all was working well until the xite power on light keeps flashing
anyone know what a flashing power light means? had the the xite for a year this is the first problem ive had in the middle of major job any help/advice is welcome


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:06 pm
Posts: 824
Is it only the power on light having problems? Does the XITE-1 still work by allowing you to still run the SCOPE platform?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 3:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 10:05 pm
Posts: 10
unfortunatly it did not work at all could not run scope or anything led kept flashing on xite and power supply however the power supply stoped flashing when i unpplugged the xite had to send it back to base its been gone a week havnt heard anything yet hopfully soon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 4:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:06 pm
Posts: 824
smixa wrote:
unfortunatly it did not work at all could not run scope or anything led kept flashing on xite and power supply however the power supply stoped flashing when i unpplugged the xite had to send it back to base its been gone a week havnt heard anything yet hopfully soon


Yea, that sounds like a seriouse problem. One that only S|C can solve. Hopefully you won't have to go too long without the XITE-1 (I'd hate to miss any significant time without mines). Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 10:05 pm
Posts: 10
yeah thanks man i hope I'll hear something soon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:59 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,
Did you olved the problem mine have done the same thing lat night.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 20896
Location: ghetto by the sea
check the voltage of the power supply with a meter, if you can.
the voltage should read a few volts higher than specified, if it's working correctly.
if the voltage is way off or low, contact support about a replacement power supply.

if the voltage looks correct, or if you aren't sure, contact support for a RMA to get it all fixed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
wait a minute - I saw a similar thing a week or so ago when I was troubleshooting my XITE. Now I can't remember what I did to correct the problem (or what the root cause was). I'm trying hard to remember what exactly I did (or was doing to make it do that in the first place). I know I had XITE out of the rack and had opened it and was toying around. Initially I worried that I might have zapped something.

here are things to at least consider: is the HDMI cable properly connected to the PCIe card? Is it a known good cable?

I remember first thinking that I might have a bad power supply but that was certainly not the problem. It's not what you think.

I might have forgotten to plug in the HDMI cable when I was hooking things back up. I kinda seem to remember doing something stupid like that.

I'm really sorry guys I can't actually remember but the problem was solved pretty quickly. That's all I can tell you. it wasn't a bad power supply or a bad XITE (that doesn't mean yours isn't bad but in my case the problem went away quickly and has been working fine ever since).

Check that HDMI cable. Replace it with a known good one just for grins.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 10:05 pm
Posts: 10
i did not solve the problem i had to send it back to Germany for repair
it came back lasted roughly a year and happened again the same problem
i sent it back early December 2016 im still waiting for it to return ive had to return clients money who cudnt
wait any longer love what the xite does fantastic hardware grreat sound
but the slow reaction response of sonic core is frustrating as much as i understand and really like their gear.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: xite power led flashing
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 1304
Location: Elgin, IL USA
smixa wrote:
i did not solve the problem i had to send it back to Germany for repair
it came back lasted roughly a year and happened again the same problem
i sent it back early December 2016 im still waiting for it to return ive had to return clients money who cudnt
wait any longer love what the xite does fantastic hardware grreat sound
but the slow reaction response of sonic core is frustrating as much as i understand and really like their gear.


Hmm - sorry to hear your situation required a return repair. I only saw this issue very briefly when I had XITE somewhat disassembled. Haven't seen that problem since then. I had to send an A16 to Ferrofish for repair one time. That round trip took a couple of months. I thought that was excessive until I had to send a preamp to California for repair recently and that took 3 months lol. Luckily I could conduct business without it. But not having the A16 was an issue for me too. I don't have a spare XITE or A16 lol. A couple of months, considering customs clearance and shipping, probably isn't that bad in retrospect. Ferrofish did a fine job repairing my unit (considering it was an older model Sonic Core unit).

Do you know what had to be repaired the first time to correct the problem? I'm just curious.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group