SPDIF Glitches

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

SPDIF Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 3:55 pm

I'm doing nothing ultra-weird, I just have 48 channels from Cubase going into a stereo S/PDIF and there are glitches now and then.

Why?
Last edited by emotive on Sat May 03, 2014 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3829
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by dante » Fri May 02, 2014 3:58 pm

ULLI settings / sample rate / DSP count / Scope version / RAM / CPU / motherboard / BIOS tweaks / what makes you thinks its Scope ?

Not near enough info dude.

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 4:05 pm

Hi Dante,

- ULLI 34ms
- sample rate 44.1Khz @ 24bits
- Scope 5.1, Windows 8.1 and Cubase 7.0.7
- Asrock FM2 A75 Pro4 with A10-5800K
- Default BIOS settings

Someone said in another thread when I was talking about AES/EBU, in that I may have been using it inadvertently for S/PDIF; I changed card but the same thing still occurs.

Thanks for any pointers or help.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3829
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by dante » Fri May 02, 2014 4:13 pm

Theres some tips here :

http://www.hitfoundry.com/tsg/tsg_mast.htm

But not specifically SPDIF related - maybe someone else can chime in on that & search for Gary's bios tweaks somewhere..

User avatar
Mr Arkadin
Posts: 3235
Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by Mr Arkadin » Fri May 02, 2014 4:23 pm

Really? You're just going to keep posting in the General forum rather than Problems forum every time with no regard to netiquette?

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Mr Arkadin wrote:Really? You're just going to keep posting in the General forum rather than Problems forum every time with no regard to netiquette?
I suppose not, but I was a bit sick of the "is scope alive thread" when at least in my machine it is :)

hubird

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by hubird » Fri May 02, 2014 5:08 pm

Why do you start a problem thread (indeed in the wrong thread) with the subject 'Scope is not perfect'?
You ask help for your specific problem and start with attacking Scope?

Besides, who said Scope is perfect?
It's only near perfect...

Geezzz...

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 5:16 pm

Hubird

There has been no attack in this thread so I don't know where you are coming from I'm afraid (like most users here, they tend not to know where a new user like myself is coming from so all in all I'll take it as it comes).

Maybe there is a disease in this forum that I hopefully won't catch but I'm not sure I can give it a name because the symptoms are so broad ranging as to put a finger on what is exactly the problem.

hubird

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by hubird » Fri May 02, 2014 5:24 pm

emotive wrote:... ranging as to put a finger on what is exactly the problem.
problem was this:
hubird wrote:Why do you start a problem thread (indeed in the wrong thread) with the subject 'Scope is not perfect'?
You ask help for your specific problem and start with attacking Scope?
Attacking Scope this:
emotive wrote:Scope is not perfect - Glitches
Who said...etc. etc.

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 5:46 pm

Hubird, Mr. Arkadin already spoke to me about the "thread" so your help (not forthcoming) here isn't really necessary and only adds to the general noise in the forum.

With Scope not actually being a person, and therefore not subject to any rules as laid down by Mod John, I would say you are out of order.

Cheers

hubird

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by hubird » Fri May 02, 2014 5:56 pm

that's distracting rhetorics.

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 6:09 pm

hubird wrote:that's distracting rhetorics.
Exactly, just as you chimed in on a thread with nothing to offer other than to re-inforce what was already said but which did not (arguably) need to be re-iterated.

User avatar
siriusbliss
Posts: 3117
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Cupertino, California US
Contact:

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by siriusbliss » Fri May 02, 2014 6:48 pm

emotive, you won't get much help in the general discussion forum.


G

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21689
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by garyb » Fri May 02, 2014 7:08 pm

probably not Scope related, probably dgital clock issues, if playback is ik through analog.
if playback is still glitchy though the analog outs, it's the cpu topping out. you can run 64 channels if the computer will support the traffic.

happycritter
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:51 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by happycritter » Fri May 02, 2014 10:18 pm

emotive wrote:
Bud Weiser wrote:Meanwhile I more and more DON´T understand what you´re complaining about.

[...]

O.k.,- when such feature like the Chord Editor is SOOOOOOOOOO important for you,- my 3rd assumption is, you´re a (eventually very young) amateur musician w/o knowledge about music theory, eventually also w/o knowledge about other recording and mixing related theory, don´t have XITE-1D or XITE-1, but come to a forum of mostly advanced users of formerly Creamware and S|C hardware and software and type endless and senseless posts.

When we talk about SCOPE and XITE,- any featuritis-talk about native VST host applications belongs to the "OFF-TOPIC" thread, you know.
While you make useful contributions, your assumptions are less than welcome.

This is General Scope, so we can talk about native or anything musically related.
From a Bayesian epistemological perspective, given enough samples with a coherent frequency - then 'assumptions' very soon become knowledge...
xw8400
2.33 GHz Xeon Quad core (E5345 Socket 771) x2
32Gb ECC buffered memory
AMD HD7700
Samsung 850 EVO 250Gb root drive
Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
Sonar Platinum
XITE-1 (flipping awesome!)

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 10:24 pm

happycritter wrote:From a Bayesian epistemological perspective, given enough samples with a coherent frequency - then 'assumptions' very soon become knowledge...
People in this forum tend to have a fixed view of what things, i.e. computers, software and equipment do and often try to impose that on others.

I will not stand for this in particular assumptions made about how one should work.

Oh and bringing in posts from another thread is not all that impressive to say the least.

User avatar
ehasting
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by ehasting » Fri May 02, 2014 11:22 pm

Spdif glitches, how is your sync setup? Digital signals are sensitive stuff.
Higen
http://www.scopeportal.com - Community Sonic Core SCOPE Plugins and Devices
http://www.higen.org

emotive
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by emotive » Fri May 02, 2014 11:31 pm

Hi,

It's likely my cable being "home made".

The DAC I am using (BMC-2) is meant to have some kind of re-clocking function but alas there is a glitch here and there.

I only use a single Avantone Active Mixcube so the volumes aren't a worry at this stage but it (dac) also has ADAT in so I will try that if it becomes a real problem as well as get a proper coaxial cable.

Thanks to all as usual for the pointers and assistance.

P.S. Do those synths work in 64 bit and how do you install them :)

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21689
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by garyb » Sat May 03, 2014 1:48 am

no problem. fix the title, please.

computers don't do anything new, by the way. they still only model reality. they're not magic or mystical, except in the sense that the world that spawned them is quite mystical and magic. they work or don't work according to logic, which is quite finite.

anything done with computers, musically, has already been done in the real world. that includes crazy sounds and every type of electronica. that's what Roland's posts attest to. computers do make many things much easier to realize much less expensively. they're a very nice tool. other than that, they aren't important. programs can't make better music, only musicians can do that.

User avatar
Mr Arkadin
Posts: 3235
Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Scope is not perfect - Glitches

Post by Mr Arkadin » Sat May 03, 2014 2:38 am

emotive wrote:People in this forum tend to have a fixed view of what things, i.e. computers, software and equipment do and often try to impose that on others.
And you have a fixed (and incorrect) view of people on this forum. No-one tells anyone what they should or should not do. I know I have personally dissuaded people from getting Scope because I realise it's not what they want. You will get opinions based on experience, of which there is a lot and very diverse. If you wish to dismiss all that experience fine, but any help you are getting is based on that same experience.

Post Reply